Dyna Lachlan Wins 2010 Adelaide Cup

Written By Tuesday 26th January 2010  

Dyna Lachlan Wins 2010 Adelaide Cup

Victorian Dyna Lachlan led all the way in scintillating style to win the Group 1 Adelaide Cup at Angle Park.

The forgotten dog of the elite field won The Advertiser Interstate Challenge two weeks ago, but punters had forsaken the son of Go Wild Teddy after last week's semi-final.

Dyna Lachlan could only manage second last week, but the result was never in doubt last night in SA's premier race.

"As soon as he led I thought it was all over," travelling companion George Dailly said.

"He's a really strong dog and I'm not surprised he ran away from them."

Eden Valley trainer Jan Jones received the thrill of her career when Strictly Mambo charged into second place.

Queenslander Mr Metz was third with SA's Springvale Dash in fourth. Earlier, Aston Rachael announced herself as a future star in the John Gray Memorial final running 29.63secs.

Trained by Troy Murray at Virginia, Aston Rachael charged to an early lead and beat home kennel mate Where's Fly by nearly eight lengths. The daughter of Where's Pedro and Maureen Shirly is owned by Ray Borda.

For the record Dyna Lachlan ($5.50) beat Strictly Mambo ($49.90) and Mr. Metz ($5.80) third. Time for the final was 29.48 3/100th slower than last year with sectional splits of 4.37 and a fast 16.73.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Springvale Dash ($15.20), 5th High Earner ($2.30), 6th Prankster ($11.70) 7th Where’s Diamond ($38.00) and Turanza Bale ($4.90). Dyna Lachlan is a Black Dog whelped July 2007 by Go Wild Teddy from Benden Flex (Ashom Bale x Vista Bale) he is raced by Paul Wheeler and trained by Andrea Dailly at Anakie. Dyna Lachlan has raced 37 times for 22 wins and nine placings and with the $63,250 first prize for the Adelaide Cup it took his overall stake earnings to $271,555.

Adelaide Cup Honour Roll

  • 1972 Bristol Miss
  • 1973 Valjuka
  • 1974 Bristol Sue
  • 1975 Turn Pillage
  • 1976 Golden Spur
  • 1977 Cavalier Queen
  • 1978 Riviera Tiger
  • 1979 Encanto
  • 1980 Youthful Prince
  • 1981 Lady Tornquest
  • 1982 Smithy's Belle
  • 1983 Superstar
  • 1984 Knocklaun Gold
  • 1985 Thundering Two
  • 1986 Farquhar
  • 1987 Club Edition
  • 1988 High Wonder
  • 1989 Kuriarkin
  • 1990 Sandi's Me Mum
  • 1991 Highly Blessed
  • 1992 South Road Sid
  • 1993 Croation Star
  • 1994 Perplexed
  • 1995 Forest Fin
  • 1996 Jurassic Vapour
  • 1997 Rare Deceit
  • 1998 Rapid Journey
  • 1999 Young Harrison
  • 2000 Jack Junior
  • 2001 Brett Lee
  • 2002 Brookside Bear
  • 2003 Waterview Star
  • 2004 Hotline Hero
  • 2005 Collide
  • 2006 Miss Spicy
  • 2007 Big Time Max
  • 2008 Whippy’s Image
  • 2009 El Galo
  • 2009 Dyna Lachlan

Neil Brown, Australian Greyhound Racing Association Correspondent (133 Articles)

Neil is Publicity Officer for the Australian Greyhound Racing Association and a Director of the Sandown Greyhound Racing Club. Neil has 38 years involvement in greyhound racing with 20 of those years spent in covering the sport in print, radio and television. He produces a detailed review of every Group 1 and most Group 2 races, as well as a previews for some of the bigger races.