El Galo Is 2008 Australian Greyhound of The Year

Written By Monday 6th April 2009  

The /a> trained speed machine, was declared the 2008 Australian Greyhound Of The Year/a> at a magnificent gala function in Sydney’s Sheraton on the Park last Friday evening.

El Galo started 34 times during 2008 for 23 wins, six seconds and two thirds. The explosive blue son of Where’s Pedro enjoyed spectacular success at Group level. He won the Group 1 , Group 2 , /a>, /a> and /a> and was placed in the /a>, /a> and /a>.

Owner, , enthralled the large crowd with a heart felt acceptance speech, confirming in the process that the end of El Galo’s racing career may be near. El Galo has qualified for Saturday night’s $150,000 to the winner /a> /a> Final at /a>. He will start favourite and victory will almost certainly close the door on what has been a truly brilliant career.

was named as the Australian Trainer of the Year for 2008. Kay maintained a small kennel throughout the year by enjoyed Group success with four greyhounds, /a> (Group 1 Sprint Championship), (Group 1 Garrards Winter Cup), /a> (Group 1 /a> and Group 2 Brandons Electrical Derby) and /a> ( Group 1 Schweppes /a>).

The long retired by still highly influential and the emerging superstar /a> tied as the leading Australian Stud Dogs for 2008. /a>, the dam of /a> and was named as the nation’s leading brood bitch.

The Run of the Year also went to Chinatown Lad in recognition of his track record run over 720m at Wentworth Park on August 30, 2008. He led throughout and posted a sensational 41.93, becoming the first greyhound in history to break 42 seconds at the famous Glebe circuit.

Friday night’s function also included AGRA inductions. For the first time the awards were presented in expanded form with a number of new categories. The inaugural inductees were warmly received by all in attendance and have set the benchmark for future induction criteria.

AGRA Executive Officer, /a>, said this week that AGRA had been delighted at the outstanding feedback received regarding the function.

“A National point of recognition has been missing but the was filled on Friday night.

“The Australian and AGRA Hall of Fame are now entrenched as the Nation’s most important Award night”, said Mr Scott.

The NSW hosted the 2008 Awards, /a> will host the 2009 Awards in Perth.

AGRA Australian Greyhound Of The Year 2008 Award Winners

  • 2008 Sky Channel Australian Greyhound Of The Year – El Galo
  • 2008 Australian Trainer of the Year – Reg Kay
  • 2008 Stud Dog of the Year – Joint Winners : Bombastic Shiraz and Token Prince
  • 2008 Australian Brood Bitch of the Year – Chinatown Babe
  • AGRA Run of the Year – Chinatown Lad

2008 AGRA Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Male Greyhound Based onBreedingPerformance –
  • Female Greyhound Based on Breeding Performance – Osti Too
  • Trainers – & Jim Coleman
  • Breeders – & Allen Wheeler
  • Administrators – Arthur Morgan, & Howard Ashton
  • Associates – Bill Pearson & Paul Ambrosoli
Kevin Pitstock Kevin Pitstock (10437 Articles)

Kevin is a second generation greyhound industry participant with over 40 years experience as a greyhound owner, breeder, trainer, syndicator, broker and journalist. Kevin founded Australian Racing Greyhound in 2007 and fulfils the role of Editor of ARG s expanding team of journalists. Kevin brings a wealth of background knowledge and external experience to Australian Racing Greyhound, that coupled with his intimate knowledge of greyhound industry and a large and diverse range of industry contacts; brings a unique perspective and insight to Australian Greyhound Racing