Bate Eyes Off State Sprint Champs

Written By Tuesday 5th August 2008  

Iconic 12-time Victorian Trainer of the Year has a four-pronged attack in the Sprint Championship state heats (515m) at Sandown Park on Thursday night.

The Lara-based doyen’s line-up is (Heat 1, Box 3), (Heat 2, Box 3), (Heat 3, Box 4) and (Heat 4, Box 5).

It has been seven years since Bate has basked in national glory.

Back in 2001, Bate won the NSC grand final (conducted at The Meadows) with Henerik Bale. Carlisle Jack (2002 ) made it a Victorian quinella.

Bate is one of eight trainers with 20 of this year’s 32 Victorian aspirants.

The others are :

Three Group 1 winners are among the list – Ashby Bale (2007 Vic Peters Classic), Que Sera Sera (2007 Classic) and Tasman Queen (2008 ).

The $10,000-to-the-winner NSC state final will be held at Sandown Park on August 14.

First and second in the state qualifier will progress to the $50,000-to-the-winner NSC grand final (520m), to be held at in Sydney on August 30.

Since its inception in 1965, Victoria has won 11 national titles – Kinta’s Son (1966), Princess Kerry (1968), Regal Hermes (1970), New Mariner (1973), (1974), Bowetzel (1977), Mr. Slick (1992), Shayne’s Champ (1996), Henerik Bale (2001), In The Frame (2002) and (2005).

Kevin Pitstock Kevin Pitstock (10430 Articles)

Kevin is a second generation greyhound industry participant with over 40 years experience as a greyhound owner, breeder, trainer, syndicator, broker and journalist. Kevin founded Australian Racing Greyhound in 2007 and fulfils the role of Editor of ARG's expanding team of journalists. Kevin brings a wealth of background knowledge and external experience to Australian Racing Greyhound, that coupled with his intimate knowledge of greyhound industry and a large and diverse range of industry contacts; brings a unique perspective and insight to Australian Greyhound Racing.