Sapphire Crown betting

The Group 1 is the premier bitches only race on the Australian greyhound racing calendar.

The series is open to the best 32 female greyhounds nominated, plus reserves, and is conducted over the 515m trip at Sandown Park each year.

Betting on the Group 1 Sapphire Crown

Being the top female-only greyhound race each year, the Sapphire Crown always attracts the best bitches in pursuit of the $100,000 winner’s cheque.

With quality fields contesting both the heat and final, there is always plenty of punting interest throughout the series, with our recommended online recognising this and offering fixed odds betting in the days leading up to each round of racing.

Some of our bookies also offer all-in markets for the winner of the final prior to the heats, providing great value if you think you can spot the winner of the series early on.

No markets are currently available for the 2017 Sapphire Crown, however we will continue to update this page in the lead up to the series to ensure our readers can claim the best odds and sign-up offers available.

History of the Group 1 Sapphire Crown

Originally being run as the Sir Arthur Rylah Sapphire Crown, the race was first run on February 7, 1974 when taken out by South Australian star Bristol Sue which clocked 31.11 over the old 513m trip at Sandown Park. In those days, the race was run as an age restricted race for dogs and bitches.

In the early years, the race was run in late January or early February, until 1990 when it was moved to April or May. The race was relaunched in 2002 as the Sapphire Crown Classic and since that time has been a bitches only feature, with the event being conducted in November between 2002 and 2009, allowing it to act as a main precursor to the .

The race was not run in 2010, with the 2011 edition conducted in June. Since 2012 the final has been run throughout the month of May.

Since its inception, the race has been contested by some of the finest canine athletes in training, with names such as , , , Betty’s Angel, , and Xylia Allen on the honour roll.

The aforementioned Paua To Burn is the only greyhound to win dual finals, with the NSW champion scoring brilliant victories in 2004 and 2005.

The race has been run as a group event since the introduction of group racing in 1995. For the first two years it was run as a group 3, before it was raised to group level from 1997 and 1999. Since 2000 the Sapphire Crown has been run as a group 1 race.

The recent runnings of the Sapphire Crown

2016: Narralee scored a tremendous victory in the most recent running of the Sapphire Crown, giving trainer Steve Creighton his first group 1 win in over 40 years as a trainer. The black bitch began exceptionally from box two and fought off a late challenge by Folio Bale to score by a head on the line.

2015: The 2015 edition of the race was won by Lamia Bale who gave trainer his first group 1 victory. Owned by , the daughter of and Maple Bale defeated a quality field including Angie Rocks, Elfen Bale and Cosmic Wise, scoring by a head in a fast 29.23.

2014: South Australian-owned bitch Oakdale Destiny scored her biggest career win in the 2014 Sapphire Crown for and . The blue bitch defeated her litter sister and kennel mate Oakdale Flyer by one length at the finish, stopping the clock in 29.92 over the 515m trip.

2013: Champion bitch Xylia Allen scored a memorable success in the 2013 Classic, the first group 1 victory for the daughter of and Tayah Bale who would go on to become one of the best chasers of her era. The 2013 field was one of the best assembled in recent years, with Xylia Allen defeating former track record holder Punch One Out by one length in a slick 29.51.

Group 1 Sapphire Crown – honour roll

1974 – Bristol Sue
1975 – Dynamic Dean
1976 – Tawny Brad
1977 – Overflow Love
1978 – Rubin Caine
1979 – Monica’s Mist
1980 – Worthy Weston
1981 – Shamrock Flight
1982 – Wynlee Spirit
1983 – Rocky Pyramid
1984 – Currency Lass
1985 – Rembrandt
1986 – Sydney Dingaan
1987 – Rothwell
1988 – Hogan
1989 – Super Gun
1990 – Ravello
1991 – Heza Mullrook
1992 – Dashing Eagle
1993 – Magnacarter
1994 – Stylish Raider
1995 – Ben’s Surprise
1996 – Sarah’s Deano
1997 – Token Prince
1998 – Time Framer
1999 – Ashlee Jeanine
2000 – Dutchy’s Angel
2001 – Let It Be
2002 – Bye For Now
2003 – Bogie Leigh
2004 – Paua To Burn
2005 – Paua To Burn
2006 – Betty’s Angel
2007 –
2008 – Queen Lauryn
2009 – Cindeen Shelby
2010 – no race held
2011 – Amakler Girl
2012 – Peggy May
2013 – Xylia Allen
2014 – Oakdale Destiny
2015 – Lamia Bale
2016 – Narralee

Katherine Ernst

About Katherine Ernst (All Articles)

Katherine is a born and bred greyhound racing enthusiast from the Hunter Valley NSW. Growing up with greyhounds, she has an appreciation for all aspects of greyhound racing from breeding and rearing to training and retirement. Katherine has worked in many positions within the media industry, including as greyhound racing columnist for both the Maitland Mercury and the Greyhound Recorder and as a Producer for Sky Racing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *